Upcoming Events

May 9

NAB Show Review

Find out about latest video production trends, gear and gadgets at our review of the National Association of Broadcaster's convention.

Register Now

May 16

Mercury Awards and Volunteer Appreciation Ceremony

The AAF-Dayton Mercury Awards honors advertising professionals in sales, support, vendor, media and education professions, as well as newcomers and unsung heroes. Each professional listed on a ballot will be recognized at the Mercury Awards & Volunteer A

Register Now

May 24

SummitUp: new media confab

SummitUp is the region's premier conference on social/new/digital media

Register Now

AAF Silver Medal Award

The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF clubs/federations bestow this honor upon outstanding community leaders.


Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges from each local club. Judges use the following criteria when making their selections:

Contribution to His/Her Company – The recipient must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service

Creative Ability – The recipient must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.

Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising – The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

Contributions to the Community – The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.

AAF-Dayton recipients of AAF Silver Medal Award are:

  • E. Bartlett Brooks (1988)

  • Elwyn E. Failor (1990)

  • Edward R. Lang (1991)

  • John K. Webster (1992)

  • John D. Yeck (1993)

  • William H. Ford (1994)

  • Walter Ohlmann (1995)

  • Thomas J. Doran Jr. (1996)

  • William F. Patterson (1997)

  • Toula Stamm (1998)

  • William Wagner (1999)

  • Ernie Ruffolo (2000)

  • Barbara Miller (2001)

  • Jerold Jamieson (2002)

  • Dan Johnson (2002)

  • Robert A. Yeck (2003)

  • Norman J. Vallone (2004)

  • Michael Fariello (2005)

  • Tim Potter (2005)

  • Donna Childs (2006)

  • Jeff Becht (2007)

  • Fred Tuzzi (2008)

  • Jim Hausfeld (2009)

  • Pat Parrish (2010)

  • Dave Hafenbrack (2011)

  • Marvin Christian (2012)

  • Sara McCatherine (2013)

  • Jayne McDougall (2014)

  • Linda Kahn (2015)